Cast Me Not Away When My Strength Fades…

Bluebird Box created by Grace Arbor Congregational Respite Ministry 2007

It hasn’t been occupied in years and there was recent talk of tearing it down. The bluebird box had been a gift to me from a dear member of First United Methodist Church in Lawrenceville. Donnie Brown brought the idea of a bluebird box ministry to me as a way to give purpose to our folks living with dementia at Grace Arbor. He laid out the idea; what he would do and what we would do. He gave the suggestion that this could be a service project and we could give them to people who donated to the Hope Clinic, which was a non-profit health clinic next door to the church. This project, still in operation, has produced hundreds of bluebird boxes and brought purpose to as many participants who worked on them. This box has sat at the corner of my rose garden for about fifteen years. In the early years it was well used. Yearly, three sets of fledglings would fly out much to the amazement of my husband, grandchildren, and me. But in the past five or so years, the box has been abandoned. Lichen has been growing on the outside and the paint has peeled away. As I said earlier, I was preparing to take it down and throw it away.

This spring, however, a brave chickadee couple decided that it would be the perfect home for their family. In and out they flew carrying moss and soft grasses. Momma laid eggs and every once-in-a-while I carefully peeked in to see if any hatched. Before Easter we had babies and Momma and Daddy Chickadee spent countless hours scavenging and feeding their hatchlings. Then one day I knew they had fledged. I had returned from a trip and felt that there was a change. I opened up the box and there was an empty nest.

In years past, I would clean out the box, discarding the nest but something told me to leave it. Last week I saw a bluebird couple investigating the box. I must insert here that I have a second bluebird box in my front yard that has had consistent nesting for many years. But not this year. I’ve wondered if the bluebirds had found another box in a neighbor’s yard to nest in. I have been greatly disappointed not to have them this year. So, when the chickadees nested in the backyard, I settled for that and found joy in watching them.

Can you imagine my surprise, when, after being gone for two days, I checked the back box and lo’ and behold…?

Five glorious bluebird eggs were discovered this morning. As I have pondered this whole phenomenon, a couple scriptures have come to mind.

Psalm 71:9: Cast me not off nor send me away in the time of old age; forsake me not when my strength is spent and my powers fail. Amplified Bible

2 Corinthians 4:14-17: Because we know that the one who raised the Lord Jesus from the dead will also raise us with Jesus and present us with you to himself.  All this is for your benefit, so that the grace that is reaching more and more people may cause thanksgiving to overflow to the glory of God. Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day.  For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all. New International Version 

The bluebird box, in its present condition, is like all of us as we age. It looks worn down and the paint is chipping. As I look in the mirror I see wrinkles, age spots, and scars. Yup this is not the body of a young person yet…I am still serving my community and Jesus. Please don’t cast me aside.

Inside that bluebird box, life is growing. Outwardly the box looks used up and ready for the trash can but the interior continues to be a haven for eggs and hatchlings. Outwardly, I am no spring chick, yet inside me beats a heart for Jesus, caregivers, folks with dementia, and children. I may be aging, but God is not done with me yet!

Maybe this is you…someone may have said something about you recently that has caused you to question your identity and personhood. Take heart and be reminded that God does not cast us aside and continues to renew His children through His word and Spirit! Keep serving, Saint! We are needed! God is not done with us yet!

**To purchase a bluebird box contact Lisa Hale at First United Methodist Church Lawrenceville. 770-963-0386. I’m sure she has one for you!

One thought on “Cast Me Not Away When My Strength Fades…

Leave a comment